Air Quality and Electrical

Construction on Tiny Refuge has gone from a weekend affair to a fully time occupation.  I will be living in Tiny Refuge in a matter of weeks.

The electrical is completed as far as it can until the bathroom is finished, the ceiling under the loft is put in and the floors are finished.  The Lunos e2 HRV (heat recovery ventilator) was hooked up and tested.  It took a little doing as there was a misunderstanding about how the switches needed to be setup.  The box we received with the HRV was a european one and it fit the transformer that controls the HRV units, so we installed it.  Oops.  The european box, that had the wires for the HRV running to it, had to be carefully excavated from the wall and a triple gang box was installed into the wall.  The Lunos e2 needs two switches, one switch turns the units on and the second switch controls the speed (low or high).  The switches needed a triple gang box because a double gang box doesn’t have enough space for the switches and the transformer.  In the third space in the box, a blank switch was installed and a hole drilled through it for the transformer’s LED.

With the switches and the transformer in place, the tubes were cut to size, the units were put in place and hooked up and then tested.  There was a slight delay as they started up, once they started they quietly purred and worked beautifully.  The Lunos e2 HRV must be installed in pairs.  One unit draws fresh air in as the other draws the “stale” air out, then after about a minute later, they switch.  They make very little noise, even on the high setting.  It was wonderful to hear them purr.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Air Quality and Electrical”

  1. I’ve been reading your blog and it’s been great to have you detail some of the challenges and the solutions for extreme cold weather. I’m from Ottawa and in the design stage of my tiny house so it’s been really useful to me. I was wondering where you sourced the HRV that you used? I would love to come and see your house if you’re open to that. I’ll be visiting family there in June and would love to discuss build issues with you. Cheers!

    1. Thank you, Francis. I found the Canadian distributor for the Lunos e2 by following the links on the Lunos website. The Canadian distributor is Ecogenia, as it turns out, they are located here in Montreal. If you are interested in a visit, please contact me through my contact me page.

  2. Hi Natalie!
    I just stumbled upon your blog for the first time and am pleased to see you employed an HRV system. We too are employing a passive haus quality envelope in terms of “tightness” and have just begun researching ventilation options. How have the Lunos units been working for you in terms of ventilation as well as energy consumption. Have you heard of any other viable tiny house options? Do you have a bathroom fan vent and/or a range hood fan? Thank you in advance!
    R+S

    1. The lunos system has been working really well and I heartily recommend it. There are other systems for tiny houses, but the lunos worked best for me and it is long enough ago that I have forgotten the other ones I researched. I do not that there were very few small/tiny HRV systems that worked in my climate. As far as energy usage, the draw is minimal. As one of my lunos fans is in my bathroom and the bathroom is next to the kitchen, I have been using it as my bathroom fan and exhaust fan, quite successfully.

  3. Hi Natalie,

    We are using the Lunos e2 as well and are trying to figure out how to avoid water from entering the Lunos while moving the tiny house. Do you have any recommendations?

    Thank you!!

    1. The recommendations for keeping water out of it are in the installation manual when the house is stationary. While moving, I will probably cover it up. Haven’t figured out exactly how yet.

Leave a Reply

